As I Descended by Robin Talley ~ Review

As I Descended is Robin Talley’s latest YA novel, this time it is a re-telling of the fabulous Macbeth by William Shakespeare. Thank you to Mira Ink, for sending me a copy of this book before the publication date (sorry the review is up a little late!) For more information on this book please contact Mira Ink.

PLEASE NOTE THE PARAGRAPHS WRITTEN IN BOLD AND ITALIC WRITING INCLUDE SPOILERS!

The synopsis of this book, despite being a re-telling of Macbeth. Is about two girls named Maria Lyon and Lily Boiten, they are the schools power couple, but one that stands between them both is, Delilah Dufrey. Who is without a doubt the most popular girl in school, and is in line to win the Cawdor Kingsley Prize. Lily and Maria are willing to do anything to ensure that Maria wins the Kingsley prize, even sabotage Delilah. When feuds turn to fatalities, and madness begins to blur what’s real and what is imagined, the girls must decide where they draw the line between foul and fair.14423860_1813891722189105_1096069445_o

This book to me is a perfect re-telling, Robin knows where to draw the line between a re-telling and a pure copy of the original novel/play. She included the perfect amount of references to Macbeth, which to me was perfect to see, as I’m currently studying Macbeth for my English Literature GCSE.

It had the perfect amount of suspense and mysteries for a paranormal book, it kept me wondering what is happening and I even had to take breaks for me to take in what happened occasionally!

My favorite character throughout the book kept changing, but as a whole, I think Maria was most enjoyable to read about for me. She was just an overall brilliant character. And the journey we see her go on, with struggling with Lily who is the obvious Lady Macbeth, the evil person in the book. And then we have Maria, who is the Macbeth, who is good and eventually turns evil with power. So even though, Maria is the good character, I really enjoyed seeing the evil journey that she went on, with placing drugs in Delilah’s drink to killing Brandon. But my most enjoyable scene with her in, was when she found out that Lily, had passed away. As you could really see the emotional breakdown she was going through, which made me cry so much! Another thing which I should quickly mention, is that instead of the book being split into ‘Parts’, it was split into ‘Acts’ like the original play Macbeth which just made me smile so much, and each different Act had a couple of words and they all formed he sentence “In thunder, in lightning, in rain, when the hurly-burly’s done, when the battle’s lost and won.” 

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and its definitely in my top 10 of 2016. I recommend this book along with her book which she released last year (What We Left Behind), I can’t wait for her new book Our Own Private Universe, to be released in early 2017.

As I Descended was 100% a 5 Star read, as for me. It never had a dull moment, and it always kept me smiling, except the end where I was crying…..
Once again, a huge thank-you to Mira Ink and Cara Thompson for sending me a copy of this brilliant book, (you always seem to publish the best books!). ❤

Josh x

 

 

Leave a Reply

