What We Left Behind by Robin Talley ~ Review

Before I write this review I would just like to say a massive thank-you to Mira Ink, NetGalley and in-particular Cara Thompson for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

13681947_1792511504327127_883352948_o

What We Left Behind by Robin Talley is a LGBTQ book which was released on October 22nd 2015 in the UK and US, and released on October 27th 2015 in Australia, (for more details of the publication please visit Goodreads or contact the publisher of the book). It tells the tale of Gretchen and Toni who are both about to start university, but they are in a relationship and they try to stay in the relationship. Despite that being a problem, the pair also face problems with their personal life.

I really enjoyed this book and it found a space in my heart for a long time after reading it. This book had a lot of strong points and various plots which I can’t mention without spoiling but I can say that the writing style was beautiful and was just so nice to read. This made me want more pages to the book.
This links in with my next point, that I wish there was some sort of sequel or companion novel of some sorts (even a novella!) Which is a really unusual thing for me to ask for as this book is part contemporary, part LGBTQ and when books like this end the way this book did, I usually like having the freedom of thinking of your own ending, or listing the possibilities that could happen in the future, if the book carried on. But I found myself nearly crying for a sequel, as this book was so good. So I didn’t want to have a “fake ending”!

My favorite character in the book was definitely Gretchen as you see her and many other characters grow as a person, but Gretchen’s growth was really deserved as she goes through an awe-full lot in the book.

The most joyful part in the book for me was near the start when Gretchen is moving and settling in to her University Dorm. And she meets someone named Carroll, they get talking, and discussing their hobbies. They start to discuss one of my favorite things in the entire universe, Wicked The Musical. Even-though, this is a book, I still found myself jealous of how many times Gretchen has seen the show!

Overall I really enjoyed, What We Left Behind, and I give this book 4.5 Stars, as it was written beautifully. I hope you pick up this book, or if you already have. Let me know what you think!

Josh x

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What We Left Behind by Robin Talley ~ Review

Leave a Reply

